2016 Naties Awards: Most Fun Movie

Not all movies are supposed to be complex mind-benders that make us contemplate life. These movies are the perfect example of fun movies to grab a bag of popcorn and some friends and go see.

The Nominees:

Ant-Man

Jurassic World

Mad Max: Fury Road

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Vacation

Why Ant-Man should win:

When I first heard that Marvel was making Ant-Man I was royally confused.  I understand that he is an important character in the comic universe, but I did not see how they would create his own movie. Although it is not the perfect movie, I really enjoyed it.  I was constantly laughing at Paul Rudd and Michael Pena and thought it was one of the funniest movies in the MCU.

 

Why Jurassic World should win:

Not only is Jurassic World one of the most entertaining movies of 2015, it is one of the most entertaining movies of all-time.  There were plenty of flaws with this movies (believe me I detailed a lot of them in my review), but at the end of the day it was a movie about dinosaurs attacking an island full of people.  There is a reason that this was one of the most successful movies at the box office this year.

 

Why Mad Max: Fury Road should win:

Crazy action. Check.  Ridiculous stunts. Check.  Decked-out monster cars. Check.  Tom Hardy.  Check.  Scantily-clad women. Check.  Lot of explosions and gunfire. Check. That wild sandstorm scene.  Check.  No plot whatsoever. Check.

Next movie.

 

Why Star Wars: The Force Awakens should win:

J.J. Abrams successfully brought back Star Wars!  From the moment the opening crawl started and John Williams’ famous score started I could not stop shaking in excitement (it literally took me almost 10 minutes to compose myself).  The movie was not perfect but I loved it for what it was and had an absolutely wonderful time watching it.  I am already waiting in anticipation for Episode VIII.

 

Why Vacation should win:

This was actually the first movie I ever saw at a drive-in.  I went to see a double feature of Vacation and Paper Towns more excited for the latter of the two but wow was I wrong! I thought Vacation was absolutely hilarious.  I know that it was almost universally panned by critics, but these are the Naties and not the Oscars so they can go shove it.  I hardly had time to catch my breath the whole movie because I was laughing so hard.

 

 

 

Winner:  Mad Max: Fury Road

This one was tough.  I actually consider Mad Max as a bit of an upset pick here.  All five of these movies were a ton of fun and I have actually seen all of them multiple times. At the end of the day, I feel like Mad Max appealed to me as a male human simply for all the reasons listed above.  The greatest part about it though was probably that a movie so male-focused had such a strong female lead with Charlize Theron.

 

I am extremely busy tomorrow, but I am going to try and get both of my Best Supporting Actor/Actress Naties up if I can.  Otherwise, I will have to wait until Wednesday as I am busy from 11:30 in the morning to midnight between class and work.

Leave a comment